Patient Relations Committee


Ms. Marianne Park, Chair
Ms. Margaret Dunn
Dr. Harinder Sandhu
Dr. Jocelyne Abi-Hahed (non-council)
Dr. Nancy Di Santo (non-council)
Dr. Richard Rayman (non-council)


The Regulated Health Professions Act, 1991, mandates the College to have a patient relations program and requires the College to advise the Health Professions Regulatory Advisory Council (HPRAC) of its programs.

The Act also stipulates that the patient relations program must include “…measures for preventing or dealing with sexual abuse of patients.” In addition, the Committee administers the funding program for therapy and counselling for dental patients who have been sexually abused.

The Committee’s mandate also includes dealing with all issues related to informing the public and the profession of the various programs and activities of the College and their rights under the Regulated Health Professions Act, 1991.

The Health System Improvements Act of 2007 broadened the scope of the Patient Relations Committee to include a responsibility “to promote and enhance relations between the College and its members, other health profession colleges, key stakeholders and the public.”