Royal College of
Dental Surgeons of Ontario
Contact Us RCDSO Portal Login
Search Filter Options

Our Committees

There are seven committees that each health profession college must establish. That is why they are referred to as statutory committees. 

The composition of each committee, including number of members, quorum, etc., is set out in our governing legislation and the College’s by-laws.

The College has developed a list of core competencies members are required to demonstrate to serve on College committees, passed by Council in November 2020. You can review that here.

In addition to the seven statutory committees that are required by the RHPA, the College has seven standing committees. While not mandated by the Act, these committees serve important functions in the operation of the College’s programs and services.

All decisions of the standing committees must be brought to Council for approval by way of formal recommendations to Council. The standing committees have little, if any, discretion or jurisdiction to operate or make decisions independent of Council.